Green and Social Bonds

Making sustainability pay

Green and Social Bonds

By supporting our clients entering the green bond market and issuing green bonds in alignment with best practice, ING aims to accelerate the development of the market, demonstrate the financial viability of green investments and empower a low-carbon and self-reliant society.


Green bonds and social bonds are debt capital markets instruments (bond, Schuldschein, securitisation), of which the proceeds are used to finance green or social projects and defined in a green bond framework.

Green bonds are fixed income instruments which hold the distinctive feature of raising capital for projects with environmental benefits. Funds can be used to finance green projects such as renewable energy, energy efficiency, clean transportation, green buildings and sustainable water management, among others.

Investor support is crucial, given that trillions of dollars of sustainable investment are needed to help meet sustainable development targets. Green bond transactions expand our investor base and attract more green investors – those that have incorporated environmental, social and governance factors into their investment decision-making and ownership practices.


Benefits of a green bond issue:

  • Access to a diversified investor base,
  • Tend to be less volatile compared to standard bonds over time,
  • Highlight the strategic focus on sustainable development,
  • Enhance internal collaboration.

Social bonds are fixed income instruments which hold the distinctive feature of raising capital for projects with positive social outcomes. Funds can be used to finance social projects such as providing access to essential services like health, education and financial services, affordable housing, and basic infrastructure like sanitation, transport, and clean drinking water.

ING has contributed to the creation of the ICMA Social Bonds Principles process guidelines released in 2017 to promote integrity in the development of the social bond market.

Green and Social Bonds

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften zahlt sich aus

Green and Social Bonds

Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden nicht nur beim Einstieg in den Green-Bonds-Markt, sondern geben auch selbst grüne Anleihen aus. So treiben wir die Marktentwicklung voran, stellen die finanzielle Tragfähigkeit von grünen Investitionen unter Beweis – und engagieren uns für eine kohlenstoffarme, verantwortungsvolle Gesellschaft.


Green and Social Bonds sind Instrumente des Fremdkapitalmarkts (Anleihe, Schuldschein, Verbriefung), deren Erlöse grüne oder soziale Projekte finanzieren. Dafür gibt es ein definiertes Green-Bond-Framework, eine Art Rahmenplan.

Als festverzinsliche Wertpapiere haben Green Bonds eine Besonderheit: Sie dienen der Kapitalbeschaffung für Projekte mit ökologischem Nutzen. Die Gelder können zur Finanzierung von Umweltprojekten verwendet werden, für erneuerbare Energien, mehr Energieeffizienz, umweltfreundliche Verkehrsmittel, umweltfreundliche Gebäude und nachhaltige Wasserwirtschaft.

Das Engagement von Investoren ist dabei entscheidend. Denn um Nachhaltigkeitsziele zu erreichen, werden oft Investitionen in Billionenhöhe benötigt. Transaktionen mit grünen Anleihen erweitern unsere Investorenbasis und ziehen weitere grüne Investoren an – jene, die sowohl ökologische und soziale als auch Governance-Kriterien in ihre Entscheidungen einbeziehen.


Grüne Anleihen bieten:

  • Zugang zu einer diversifizierten Investorenbasis
  • Auf längere Sicht tendenziell weniger Unbeständigkeit als Standardanleihen
  • Strategischer Fokus auf nachhaltiger Entwicklung
  • Verbesserung der internen Zusammenarbeit

Social Bonds sind – wie der Name schon sagt – festverzinsliche Wertpapiere, die Kapital für soziale Projekte beschaffen. Finanziert werden mit diesen Geldern z.B. der Zugang zu Gesundheits-, Bildungs- und Finanzdienstleistungen, erschwingliches Wohnen, sanitäre Einrichtungen, Transportmittel und sauberes Trinkwasser.

Um die Integrität des Marktes für Sozialanleihen zu fördern, haben wir bei der Entwicklung der Richtlinien ICMA Social Bonds Principles mitgearbeitet. 2017 wurden sie veröffentlicht.