Sustainable Investments

Making sustainability pay

Sustainable investments

By offering a wide variety of products, services and initiatives, ING has been committed to sustainability for over twenty years. We believe that companies addressing climate change and resource scarcity will be the winners of tomorrow's economy. Our strategy is to support you in moving towards more sustainable business models.

Within ING, we have identified several focus areas including circular economy, energy transition and water management, in which we have built ample expertise to help you grow your business.

That being said, certain business models or client proposition have a risk profile that is not yet suitable for an all-in senior financing solution. Frequently the underlying technology, innovative concept or life cycle is complex and requires some kind of risk-bearing capital. This is where ING Sustainable Investments comes in to offer you a customised solution.

 

Sustainable investments

ING Sustainable Investments supports scale-ups with a proven concept that have a positive environmental impact. With a proven concept, we mean a confirmed technology or pilot plant with recurring customers and expected positive cash flows.

We target opportunities which have a strong impact on energy, material or water usage across all sectors. Initially, the team will pro-actively pursue opportunities in the Benelux, and over time will extend the focus to ING’s other core markets, such as Germany, Spain, Portugal, Poland, the United Kingdom, and the United States.  

ING Sustainable Investments provides a wide range of structured equity and subordinated debt solutions. By combining these products in one package designed for your needs, we can help you achieve your environmental goals.

 

Investment strategy

The ING Sustainable Investments team has extensive experience in financial structuring and a drive to understand your technology or innovative concept. This enables us to step in when standard financing solutions may not be feasible. Flexibility is the hallmark of our approach, whether in terms of products offered, type of business, or governance. Our investments are based on certain criteria. For example, we preferably invest as minority shareholder, together with management and strategic parties with added value.

 

Our approach

ING Sustainable Investments is a partner you can trust and is backed by the stability and reputation of a major international financial institution. At the same time, we place our trust in management’s ability to lead the business according to its own vision and experience. As your business partner, our approach can differ in several key areas from other investors in the Benelux and ING’s core market. ING Sustainable Investments is a dedicated unit within ING Corporate Investments.

Sustainable Investments

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften zahlt sich aus

Sustainable Investments

Mit unseren vielfältigen Produkten, Dienstleistungen und Initiativen sammeln wir seit über 20 Jahren Erfahrungen in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit. Wir sind überzeugt: Unternehmen, die sich heute gegen Klimawandel und Ressourcenknappheit stellen, sind die Gewinner von morgen. Auch Sie möchten wir beim Umstieg auf ein nachhaltigeres Geschäftsmodell unterstützen.


Zum einen sind da wichtige Schlüsselthemen wie Energiewende, Kreislaufwirtschaft und Wasserwirtschaft. Da nutzen wir unser gewachsenes Branchenwissen und tragen gern dazu bei, dass auch Ihr Geschäft wachsen kann.

Zunehmend gibt es aber auch Geschäftsmodelle mit Risikoprofilen, die noch nicht für eine umfassende vorrangige Finanzierungslösung geeignet sind. Häufig ist die Innovation, die Technologie oder der Lebenszyklus einfach so komplex, dass risikotragendes Kapital erforderlich ist. Genau hier helfen unsere Sustainable Investments, die wir für Sie ganz individuell ausrichten können.

Gesucht: Scale-ups mit guter Ökobilanz

Mit Sustainable Investments unterstützen wir Scale-upsmit einer guten Ökobilanz und mit erprobtem Konzept. Unter einem „erprobten Konzept“ verstehen wir dabei eine bereits bewährte Technologie mit Eigen- oder Hybridkapital oder eine Pilotanlage mit festen Kunden und voraussichtlich positiven Cashflows.

In allen Sektoren suchen wir Investitionsziele mit großem Einfluss auf Energie-, Material- und Wasserverbrauch. Zuerst in den Beneluxstaaten, dann in weiteren Märkten wie Deutschland, Spanien, Portugal, Polen, Großbritannien oder den USA.

Von strukturierten Eigenkapital- bis zu nachrangigen Fremdkapitallösungen bieten wir ein breites Spektrum an Produkten – und kombinieren alles in einemindividuell für Sie geschnürten Paket. Damit Sie Ihre Umweltziele erreichen.

Investmentstrategie: erfahren und flexibel

Unsere Erfahrung in der Finanzierungsstrukturierung ist das eine. Das andere ist ein schneller Kopf, um uns in Ihre Ideen und Technologien hineinzudenken. So können wir da einspringen, wo Standardfinanzierungen nicht greifen. Unser Ansatz ist flexibel, sowohl bei den Produkten als auch der Geschäftstätigkeit und der Art der Unternehmensführung. Bei unseren Investments richten wir uns nach bestimmten Kriterien. Beispielsweise investieren wir bevorzugt als Minderheitsanteilseigner, gemeinsam mit der Geschäftsführung und strategischen Parteien mit Mehrwert.

Unser Ansatz: etwas anders

Auf unsere Sustainable Investments können Sie genauso vertrauen, wie wir darauf vertrauen, dass Sie Ihr Unternehmen zum Erfolg führen – getreu Ihrer eigenen Vision und Erfahrung. Wahrscheinlich weicht unser Ansatz als Ihr Geschäftspartner in einigen Punkten von anderen Investoren in den Beneluxstaaten und den Kernmärkten der ING ab. Denn wir sind ein besonders anspruchsvoller und leidenschaftlicher (!) Geschäftsbereich der ING Corporate Investments.